Home > DVD + CD's > CD's > Music Performance

Sy Smith  The Syberspace Social CD [CD]  

Sy Smith The Syberspace Social CD [CD]

R&B songstress Sy Smith rose to fame in the late 1990s when she sign a recording contract with Hollywood Records and is often referred to as The Underground Queen of R&B and Soul.
Sy majored in psychology at Howard University, sang with a Washington, D.C.-based go-go band, and was a backup singer for Whitney Houston before appearing on Ally McBeal and a series of Gap commercials.
Her debut album, Psykosoul, which she also co-wrote and produced, appeared in spring 2000 on Hollywood Records. In 2005 Sy released Psykosoul Plus with bonus tracks.

Quick Sidenote; Song Fantasy Nominated for a Grammy 2008
Me'shell N'degeocello tapped into the vocal talents of Sy Smith to collaborate on a remake of Earth, Wind and Fire's "Fantasy" for a tribute album. Me'shell N., known for her unconventional views and massive funk, knew that she wanted to do something different for this cover. Well, between the other musicians playing, Sy singing, and Me'shell orchestrating the whole session, we have a completely new take on "Our voices will ring together, until the twelth of never".

Is Sy the lovechild of Sly Stone and Diana Ross? This CD blends indulgent harmonies with mind-bending production from 3 of the illest beatsmiths in the world - Ali Shaheed Muhammad, James Poyser and Nicolay, plus a duet w/ Anthony Hamilton.

1 Welcome 2 Syberspace
2 Fa Sho
3 Aquarius Rising
4 Time
5 Love and Such
6 Dreamtrip
7 Runnin (Jah Child)
8 Honeychild
9 Part of the Night
10 Drop That
11 Stand Alone
12 No Place Like Love
13 Turnstyles
14 Bruise
15 Lover's Crime
16 Bad on You
17 Drop That [Remix]
Running Time: 72.52 minutes

Our Price: £16.99